Home > Meetings > Summary of September 2013 Meeting

Summary of September 2013 Meeting

September 15, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

We had a nice crowd for our first meeting of the new school year.  After some social time we began the meeting by discussing what we consider our main technology tool; that being a desktop, laptop, tablet, or phone.

Next up was a quick discussion of Apple’s new iPhone announcements, that conversation then led into our Q&A and Show & Tell.

Categories: Meetings
  1. James Bradley
    September 23, 2013 at 10:29 am | #1

    Howdy Fellow KRMUG:
    Yesterday I upgraded to iOS 7. I am not sure that I should have done it. Why do the folks in “high places” think they know better how we should operate and use our devices?? I don’t like the contact list being buried in the PHONE app…sometimes when I refer to my Contact list it is not to use the phone so why do I need to go there??? Another is the clunky look of the icons and the “wimpy” background for those icons. Also, when first turned on and I have to “slide to open” is the actionable item on a background that is nearly the same color…no contrasting here! Sure makes it hard to see at times…especially in brigher light conditions. So to say I am pleased with it is a stretch. Oh, and the calendar…sure doesn’t seem to be very readable and useable like it was before. Maybe I am an OLD fuddy-duddy, BUT some things that work do not need fixing!

    Oh, and another thing! The upgrade deleted my purchased apps! Now I have to find them and reload them…probably will have to start all over here. Just several of the things I find a bit strange with this update…none of the prior gyrations caused this much angst.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

